Student Affairs

Subject Exemptions


Only students who have passed subjects at tertiary ( post-senior Certificates) level may apply for exemptions.

Only subjects examined by formal academic institutions such as universities, technikons or recognized professional bodies are considered, especially where an M+3 rating from the Human Sciences Research Council applies.

The examining board must be recognized by the IAC.

The examinations and syllabuses must be comparable both in standard and content to 90% similarity or above.

The following institutions are recognized:

Technikons (National Certificate, Diplomas and High Qualifications).

South African Universities (Bachelor Degrees and Higher Qualifications). (these universities should be affiliated to the South African Vice-Chancellors' Association Formerly the Committee of Universities, polytechnics or colleges.

Zimbabwean State Universities

The following Professional Institutes are recognized:

Association of Certified Chartered Accountants (ACCA)

Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)

Institute of Bankers of South Africa (IBSA)

Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (CIS)

Institute of Marketing Management (IMM)

Institute of Personnel Management (IPMZ2)

Insurance Institute of Southern Africa (IISA)

South African Institute of Management (SAIM)

Southern Association of Accounting Technicians (SAAA)

Some exemptions are granted on a subject-for-subject basis, more details can be found on the back of the Application for Subject Exemptions.

Subject exemptions must be applied for on the Official IAC Subject Exemptions form and must be accompanied by:

Certified copies of detailed academic statements (indicating subject names, actual percentages/or an explanation of symbols)

Pending guidance from the Southern African Authority (SAQA), the IAC does not have a mechanism for recognizing prior learning and does not therefore exempt from subjects based on business experience, short course subjects, training course, programmes, etc.

The IAC does not exempt from level 3 (major) subject.

The IAC reserves the right to request whatever information it may deem necessary to consider any subject exemption, and its decisions regarding exemptions are final.

The maximum number of subjects that can be exempted is ten.

NB: this exemption policy (subject-for subject) is relevant to students with complete OR incomplete qualifications.

An exemption will NOT be granted where a student has written and failed the IAC examination and later claims exemption by virtue of a pass with another examining body unless permission has been obtained in writing from the Exemptions Committee.